Annika Sorenstam at centre of rules farce on return to golf

Annika Sorenstam

Annika Sorenstam must wish that she had stayed retired.

Making her first official tour start since 2008, the 50-year-old Swede carded a three-over 75 in the opening round of the Gainbridge LPGA at Lake Nona. 

However, it could have been better but for a bogus ruling.

Ten-time major champion Sorenstam had to call in an official after her tee shot at the par-4 fifth hole came to rest beneath the gate of a house bordering the golf course. 

• Woods will not face charges after accident

• Roadmap published for return of golf in England

Dan Maselli, the rules official who responded, determined that the ball had stayed in bounds "by a dimple". Sorenstam had suggested opening the gate to hit the shot but Maselli told her that wasn't an option. 

Consequently, Sorenstam ruled her ball unplayable, took relief at the cost of a penalty stroke and, finally, signed for a triple-bogey seven. 

Just one problem: Maselli got it wrong.

Sorenstam could have opened the gate. 

A change to the Rules of Golf in 2019, a gate used to get through a wall or fence is no longer part of the boundary object. Instead, it's considered an obstruction, which means that players are able to claim free relief. 

In Sorenstam's case, that would have meant opening the gate (assuming it wasn't locked). 

Even more incredible than the rules official not knowing the rules is the fact that there's nothing the LPGA can do about it.

• Shaken Thomas reacts to news of Tiger's crash

• Wie blasts Giuliani over "panties" joke

• Royal Aberdeen to host Scottish Seniors

In a statement, the tour said: "Regarding the Ruling given to Annika Sorenstam on the fifth hole during the first round of the 2021 Gainbridge LPGA, the official on scene linked the word 'integral' to the gate meant that it could not be moved. 

"This was an error under the definition of an Immovable Obstruction in the Rules of Golf. The gate is considered moveable if proven to be unlocked (Rule 16), and therefore could have been moved to allow the player to hit the shot.

"The option to rescind the penalty is not available under the Rules of Golf. The official met the player immediately following her second round to explain the mistake and apologise."

Share this Article

share-logo
twitter-logo facebook-logo

Latest Videos See all videos right arrow

play button
THE SIMPLE WAY TO FLUSH YOUR IRONS | with Ewen Ferguson
Ewen Ferguson
play button
DO THE TAYLORMADE P790 IRONS LIVE UP TO THE HYPE?
TaylorMade
play button
I TAKE ON THE BEST AMATEUR GOLFER IN SCOTLAND
angus carrick
play button
WHO WOULD USE THIS GOLF CLUB? | TaylorMade 300 Mini Driver review
TaylorMade
See all videos right arrow

Golf News

PXG boss offers staff cash bonus to get COVID vaccine
Women's golf is "neglected" says Gary Player
Dustin Johnson: I want to be US Ryder Cup captain
“I can’t keep playing the way I am” - Jason Day opens up on struggles
US teen cards 57 in high school golf championship

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods: Inside his $41million Florida mansion
The very best pubs in St Andrews
The Scottish Golf Course Emoji Quiz!
24 lies every bad golfer tells
Doug Sanders: The extraordinary life of golf's original playboy

Quick Fault 'n' Fixes See all videos right arrow

play button
Denis Pugh’s stepping-stone to better golf
Watch
play button
Denis Pugh says, ‘Turn, don’t slide’
Watch
play button
How to hit a fade
Watch
play button
How to improve your takeaway
Callaway
See all videos right arrow