Another award for record-breaker Lee Westwood

Lee Westwood

England’s Lee Westwood has been voted the Association of Golf Writers ‘Golfer of the Year’ for a record fourth time.

Westwood earned 53% of the votes in a poll of the association's members to secure the title ahead of AIG Women’s Open winner Sophia Popov, who was second with 20%.

The prestigious AGW Golfer Writers Trophy, first presented in 1951, recognises the team, person or persons, resident or born in Europe, who, in the opinion of the majority of association members, made the most outstanding contribution to golf in the preceding 12 months.

• Schauffele describes "scary" COVID-19 ordeal

• WATCH - Bryson's latest antics leave fans baffled

• Are you one of our Advent Calendar winners?

Westwood was first presented with the award in 1998 and then for a second time in 2000 when he won seven times around the globe.  He was voted AGW ‘Golfer of the Year’ for a third occasion in 2009.

Eleven years later, the 47-year-old - just weeks after winning the Race To Dubai for a third time - is the first player to win the AGW members' majority vote four times.

“I’m again honoured to be voted AGW Golfer of the Year and even more so to now win the award for a fourth time,” said Westwood.

“It’s always a special award because it is voted by the dedicated golfing press who are out there reporting on the various tournaments. We all know 2020 was a very different year but they are the ones who continually keep a close eye on what has been going on in the golf world.

• English courses close amid new lockdown

• Golf course resting place for Sir Sean Connery

“There were some great performances in this shortened year. Sophia Popov’s AIG Women’s Open victory at Royal Troon was very impressive, while Jon Rahm played well in the States and Justin and Kate [Rose] are to be congratulated for organising the Rose Ladies Series. So, I feel very fortunate and honoured to have won”.

Westwood will be presented with the trophy at this year’s Association of Golf Writers annual dinner, to be held on July 14 in the week of the rescheduled 149th Open Championship at Royal St George’s.

Share this Article

twitter-logo facebook-logo

Latest Videos See all videos right arrow

play button
WHO WOULD USE THIS GOLF CLUB? | TaylorMade 300 Mini Driver review
play button
Andrew Jowett
play button
BUDDIES TRIP | Does Adare Manor live up to the hype?
Adare Manor
play button
£519 DRIVER vs £150 DRIVER | What's the difference?
See all videos right arrow

Golf News

Three matches, zero points - what the hell has happened to Rory McIlroy?
Ryder Cup: USA on brink of victory at Whistling Straits
Former Ryder Cup captain hits out at Bryson DeChambeau for "gimme" strop
Ryder Cup: Brooks Koepka and Daniel Berger SWEAR at officials after ruling
7 contenders to be the next European Ryder Cup captain

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods: Inside his $41million Florida mansion
The very best pubs in St Andrews
The Scottish Golf Course Emoji Quiz!
24 lies every bad golfer tells
Doug Sanders: The extraordinary life of golf's original playboy

Quick Fault 'n' Fixes See all videos right arrow

play button
How to transition your weight with Peter Barber
play button
Increase your speed through the ball
play button
Good balance is key to more consistency
play button
Fix your grip with Denis Pugh
See all videos right arrow