Bryson DeChambeau involved in yet ANOTHER rules debacle

Bryson De Chambeau Ant

Another week, another Bryson DeChambeau rules fiasco.

In his first competitive round of golf since he clocked up that ten at The Memorial a fortnight ago, the American put himself squarely at the centre of yet another controversy, this time in the opening round of the WGC-Invitational at TPC Southwind

Playing the par-4 seventh - his 16th hole of the day after starting at the tenth - the 26-year-old launched a drive into the left rough. 

It was when he reached his ball that things got weird. 

• Former world No.1 announces split from coach

• Koepka irked by reporter's question

With his ball stuck behind twigs just beneath a tree, DeChambeau called over a rules official to see if he could get relief. 

His justification for wanting a drop? 

Ants. 

"I know there's burrowing animal stuff right here, especially ants," he told the official. "I see a red ant right here. I'm stepping right on it. You've got some holes right here with ants coming out of it."

After much deliberation, the official told DeChambeau that he couldn't see any fire ants, which might cause a dangerous situation and which would warrant a free drop under Rule 16: "Relief from Abnormal Course Conditions (Including Immovable Obstructions), Dangerous Animal Condition, Embedded Ball."

• Tiny Scots island is home to UK's longest golf hole

• VisitScotland launches new golf tourism campaign

The world No.7 and his caddie continued to press the case but the official couldn't be persuaded. 

"It doesn't interfere with your stance regardless," he said. "It's not an animal hole."

Finally, DeChambeau accepted his fate but went on to double-bogey the hole, tumbling back to two-under having been five-under just five holes earlier. 

WATCH THE CLIP BELOW...

DeChambeau ultimately signed for a three-under 67 and, afterwards, spoke to reporters about the incident, which he admitted was "weird".

• Union blasted over junior's disqualification

• Historic amateur event WILL go ahead this year

"There was discoloured dirt and I saw a couple red ants there and I was thinking, hmm, anthill, may get something or whatnot," he explained. "I asked him and he was like, well, it's got to be, you know, kind of endangering you. 

"There was just discussion there and he didn't think it was necessary for a drop. so I'm always going to respect the officials and go, okay, no issue, that's fine.

"Didn't help that I had a really, really bad lie, too, but it s what it is."

Share this Article

share-logo
twitter-logo facebook-logo

Latest Videos See all videos right arrow

play button
TITLEIST TOUR SPEED – Better than the Pro V1???
Titleist
play button
THE SIMPLE WAY TO HIT A LOB SHOT | GOLF EXPLAINED
Golf Lessons
play button
TaylorMade MG2 TW Grind Wedges – Tiger Woods’ secret short game weapon
TaylorMade
play button
A simple drill for perfect timing | IMG Academy
Golf Lessons
See all videos right arrow

Golf News

Bryson DeChambeau vows to get better - and bigger - after US Open win
Robert MacIntyre ‘disappointed’ with US Open debut
US Open: Rory Sabbatini just hit the worst putt of all time
WATCH - Pro has SIX-PUTT from four feet at US Open
US Open 2020: Final round tee times

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods: Inside his $41million Florida mansion
The very best pubs in St Andrews
The Scottish Golf Course Emoji Quiz!
24 lies every bad golfer tells
Doug Sanders: The extraordinary life of golf's original playboy

Quick Fault 'n' Fixes See all videos right arrow

play button
Don’t shorten your swing says Denis Pugh
Watch
play button
Keep your left arm straight
Watch
play button
Extend your arms through impact
Watch
play button
How to hold your finish like a tour pro
Callaway
See all videos right arrow