Christina Kim embroiled in golf's latest rules controversy

Christina Kim

Former Solheim Cup star Christina Kim is at the centre of golf’s latest rules furore, after calling a penalty on her playing partners during last week’s LPGA Q-Series.

The incident happened on the par-3 17th at Pinehurst during Round 6 of the qualifying event.

Kim hit first. Dewi Weber went next. As she addressed her ball, the third player in the group, Kendall Dye, signalled to Weber’s caddie to ask if she was hitting an 8-iron. Jacqueline Schram, on Weber’s bag, motioned back to confirm.

That was a violation of Rule 10-2, which states that a player cannot ask for advice from a fellow player or caddie. Players can look in opponents’ bags to ascertain which club they are hitting but they may not, for example, move a towel if it is draped over the bag.

• Norman reveals how Tiger snubbed him

• Phil's remarkable streak comes to an end

• New owner pledges to put Scots club back on map

WATCH - HOW TO SHOOT LOWER SCORES

It was initially reported that Kim waited until the end of the round, ten holes later, to inform her partners that they had breached the rule. However, she later clarified, saying that she had contacted an official as soon as they had finished the hole to see if the rule was still in effect.

• Open venue wins Scotland's Best Golf Experience

• Matthew set to captain 2021 Solheim Cup team

Weber was unaware of what had happened but, nonetheless, was hit with a two-shot penalty because of her caddie’s intervention. Dye, too, was docked two shots.

Kim subsequently spent much of the weekend discussing – and defending – her actions on social media.

Whilst Kim went on to secure her LPGA playing privileges through the event, there was no such luck for Dye and Weber, both of whom failed to get the top-45 finish they needed. Dye missed out by four shots and Weber by nine.

• Drysdale "still striving" for first win on tour

Dye has since taken to Twitter to give her version of events. She takes responsibility for breaking the rule, albeit unknowingly, but criticised Kim for her handling of the matter.

Share this Article

share-logo
twitter-logo facebook-logo

Latest Videos See all videos right arrow

play button
WHY THIS SHOULD BE YOUR NEXT SPLIT SET - Callaway Apex irons review
Callaway
play button
IS THIS THE MOST FORGIVING DRIVER EVER??? - PING G425 review
Ping
play button
CAN AN UNPAINTED BALL HELP YOU PLAY BETTER??? - Wilson Staff Model golf balls review
Wilson
play button
THE MOST UNDERRATED DRIVER MONEY CAN BUY - BUT WHAT IS IT?
Srixon
See all videos right arrow

Golf News

Pro says Challenge Tour postponement was “correct decision”
Justin Thomas dropped by sponsor over "homophobic" remark
Report: Two-time major champion Angel Cabrera arrested
Rescheduled Scottish Golf Tourism Week 2020 now cancelled
Bubba Watson: Twitter reacts to latest addition to major champ's bag

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods: Inside his $41million Florida mansion
The very best pubs in St Andrews
The Scottish Golf Course Emoji Quiz!
24 lies every bad golfer tells
Doug Sanders: The extraordinary life of golf's original playboy

Quick Fault 'n' Fixes See all videos right arrow

play button
How to improve your takeaway
Callaway
play button
Rotate behind the ball
Watch
play button
How to get your takeaway on plane
Watch
play button
A simple takeaway drill from Peter Barber
Watch
See all videos right arrow