Colt Knost unhappy with PGA error

2016 07 Knost
- Colt Knost unhappy with PGA of America after error
- His group were given wrong pin position at tenth hole
- Likened PGA of America to USGA in a tweet

US PGA CHAMPIONSHIP

PGA Tour player Colt Knost likened US PGA Championship organisers the PGA of America to the USGA after an embarrassing hole location error at Baltusrol.


Playing in the first group of the day from tee No.10 alongside Joe Summerhays and Yuta Ikeda, the trio were handed the wrong pin information on their daily sheets for that hole, an issue that was quickly rectified and only affected that group.

Read more -> Players slam USGA over DJ ruling farce

However, during the early morning rain delay, Colt Knost was less than impressed and tweeted his disdain at what happened at the hole, where he made bogey.

The American then got a bit of stick but, after his round, stood by his earlier tweet.

In response to the error, the PGA of America issued the following statement:

"The second round hole location sheet provided to Group 14 - the first group of the day to play from Tee No.10 - listed the hole location as being on the left side of the green (20 paces from the front of the green and four paces from the left edge of the green.

Read more -> McGinley: US Open farce 'can't happen again'

"In error, the hole was actually cut and positioned on the right side of the green (19 paces from the front of the green and five paces from the right edge of the green).

CONTINUES BELOW...

THE PLAYERS Championship - Final Round

"The PGA of America Rules Committee did not notice the hole had been cut in the incorrect location until after each member of Group 14 had hit his second shot to the green.

Read more -> USGA 'regret' over handling of DJ ruling

"The hole location played by Group 14 was provided a revised hole location sheet to all subsequent groups, meaning all groups today are playing the same hole location.

"PGA chief championships officer Kerry Haigh met with the players in Group 14 (Colt Knost, Joe Summerhays and Yuta Ikeda) after they signed their cards to offer an explanation, express his disappointment and apologise to them."

Colt Knost :: PGA of America error


What did you make of the PGA of America's error in this instance and do you think Colt Knost was fair in his assessment of what happened? Leave your thoughts in the 'Comments' section below.

Share this Article

share-logo
twitter-logo facebook-logo

Latest Videos See all videos right arrow

play button
THE SIMPLE WAY TO FLUSH YOUR IRONS | with Ewen Ferguson
Ewen Ferguson
play button
DO THE TAYLORMADE P790 IRONS LIVE UP TO THE HYPE?
TaylorMade
play button
I TAKE ON THE BEST AMATEUR GOLFER IN SCOTLAND
angus carrick
play button
WHO WOULD USE THIS GOLF CLUB? | TaylorMade 300 Mini Driver review
TaylorMade
See all videos right arrow

Golf News

Former PGA Tour pro has leg amputated
PXG boss offers staff cash bonus to get COVID vaccine
Women's golf is "neglected" says Gary Player
Dustin Johnson: I want to be US Ryder Cup captain
“I can’t keep playing the way I am” - Jason Day opens up on struggles

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods: Inside his $41million Florida mansion
The very best pubs in St Andrews
The Scottish Golf Course Emoji Quiz!
24 lies every bad golfer tells
Doug Sanders: The extraordinary life of golf's original playboy

Quick Fault 'n' Fixes See all videos right arrow

play button
Good balance is key to more consistency
Callaway
play button
How the Dufner waggle can help your game
Watch
play button
A good grip will give you more consistency
Watch
play button
How to hit the ball straighter with Denis Pugh
Watch
See all videos right arrow