CONFIRMED: Players announced for first LIV Golf Series event

Liv Golf Invitational Series

After months of speculation and conjecture, we now know the identities of the golfers who will play in the opening event of the LIV Golf Invitational Series. 

Dustin Johnson, Lee Westwood, Ian Poulter and Sergio Garcia headline the initial 42 names revealed for next week's $25million tournament at the Centurion Club in London.

The inclusion of Johnson is a particular surprise given that he released a statement in February saying that he was "fully committed" to the PGA Tour.

In the week leading up to the opening event, Phil Mickelson confirmed he too would take part - despite the controversy over comments he made about the Saudi regime.

The field comprises 26 of the world's top 150 players, representing 11 different countries. They include major champions, former world No.1s and, interestingly, three current amateurs.

“Free agency has finally come to golf," said LIV Golf CEO Greg Norman. "This is an opportunity to start a movement that will change the course of history by bringing new and open competition to the sport we all love. 

"The desire shown by the players to participate in LIV Golf demonstrates their emphatic belief in our model and confidence in what we’re building for the future.


"We couldn’t be happier at the diversity of our field, featuring players from around the world including major champions and those making their debut with us competing in their first professional event. 

"We can’t wait to start our journey at Centurion Club with this group of first movers who are committed to growing the game in new and exciting ways.” 


Oliver Bekker
Richard Bland
Itthipat Burnatanyarat
Laurie Canter
TK Chantananuwat*
Hennie Du Plessis
Oliver Fisher
Sergio Garcia
Talor Gooch
Branden Grace
Justin Harding
Sam Horsfield
Dustin Johnson
Matt Jones
Sadom Kaewkanjana
Martin Kaymer
Phachara Khongwatmai
Sihwan Kim
Ryosuke Kinoshita
Chase Koepka
Jinichiro Kozuma
Pablo Larrazabal
Viraj Madappa
Graeme McDowell
Jediah Morgan
Phil Mickelson
Kevin Na
Shaun Norris
Andy Ogletree
Louis Oosthuizen
Wade Ormsby
Adrian Otaegui
Turk Pettit
James Piot*
Ian Poulter
David Puig*
JC Ritchie
Charl Schwartzel
Travis Smyth
Ian Snyman
Hudson Swafford
Hideto Tanihara
Peter Uihlein
Scott Vincent
Lee Westwood
Bernd Wiesberger
Blake Windred
Kevin Yuan

* Denotes amateur

The final 48-man field will play across 12 teams of four players each, which will be determined at The Draft on Tuesday, June 7. 

LIV Golf will appoint 12 team captains who will then select players in the first round in order of reverse OWGR ranking, and for the second and third rounds via a snake format. Team names and logos will also be unveiled at The Draft.

Share this Article

twitter-logo facebook-logo

Latest Videos See all videos right arrow

play button
2022 Driver Test | Which one is going in my bag?
play button
The most powerful PING irons ever? | PING i525 review
play button
I'll be using the Vokey SM9 wedges... and you should too
play button
The driver that has it all? | COBRA LTDx drivers REVIEWED!
See all videos right arrow

Golf News

Paige Spiranac snubbed by charity “because of cleavage”
Tommy Fleetwood backs ground-breaking handicap scheme
Rory McIlroy hails verdict in “personal” LIV Golf battle
Richie Ramsay lifts lid on hilarious Tiger Woods story
PGA Tour predicts HUGE prize money increase

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods: Inside his $41million Florida mansion
The very best pubs in St Andrews
The Scottish Golf Course Emoji Quiz!
24 lies every bad golfer tells
Doug Sanders: The extraordinary life of golf's original playboy

Quick Fault 'n' Fixes See all videos right arrow

play button
Denis Pugh’s stepping-stone to better golf
play button
Open up your left foot to get through the ball
play button
How to make a consistent backswing
play button
Increase your shoulder turn and improve your golf
See all videos right arrow