From £75 to £1.175m... The staggering Troon Open prize increase

2016 07 Getty Images 3364974

1923 – Arthur Havers (£75)


1950 – Bobby Locke (£300)

Bobby Locke

1962 – Arnold Palmer (£1,400)

Arnold Palmer

1973 – Tom Weiskopf (£5,500)

Tom Weiskopf

1982 – Tom Watson (£32,000)

Tom Watson

1989 – Mark Calcavecchia (£80,000)

Mark Calcavecchia

1997 – Justin Leonard (£250,000)

Justin Leonard

2004 – Todd Hamilton (£720,000)

GBR: The 2004 Open Golf Royal Troon

2016 - Winner will receive £1,175,000!

Royal Troon

Golf News

Rumour: Tiger and Rory to play in new money match
Herman praises Donald Trump after PGA Tour win
Robert MacIntyre makes extraordinary piece of Open history
Brooks Koepka hits out at Holmes over pace of play
The Open: Post-Championship Report Card

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods puts new irons in the bag
New Fife golf course gets go ahead
Review: Adare Manor, Ireland's rejuvenated masterpiece
Win a spot in the ASI Scottish Open Pro-Am with Hilton
Padraig Harrington targets 2020 Ryder Cup captaincy

Quick tips with Denis Pugh and Peter Barber See all videos right arrow

A simple takeaway drill from Denis Pugh
play button
Peter Barber’s advice for older golfers
play button
Denis Pugh’s wise words for ex-pro Steven Rettie
play button
How to control your distances
See all videos right arrow