LPGA pro cleared, then penalised, for rules breach

Nicole Broch Larsen

An LPGA Tour pro was given a one-stroke penalty at the rain-plagued Volunteers of America LPGA Texas Classic for a rules breach... despite being cleared by an on-site rules official.

Playing the par-5 fourth hole, the 13th of her second round, Danish pro Nicole Broch Larsen thought she saw her ball move and, at that point, was near the summit of the leaderboard.

The 23-year-old discussed the situation with an on-course rules official, who ruled that Broch Larsen hadn’t caused the ball to move. She played on and made what she thought was a birdie, but this wasn't to be the case in the end.

That's because an LPGA official assigned to watch the broadcast of the event contacted the on-site Rules Committee with 'added information' from seeing video footage.

A statement from the LPGA Rules Committee read: "During the second round of the Volunteers of America LPGA Texas Classic, Nicole Broch Larsen breached Rule 18-2 (ball at rest moved by player) on the fourth hole.

"While the on-course Rules Official originally deemed there to be no penalty, the LPGA's official monitoring the telecast contacted the on-site LPGA Rules Committee with additional information prompting the Committee to review the video.

Nicole Broch Larsen1

"After reviewing the video and having further dialogue with the player, the Rules Committee determined that more likely than not, the player caused the ball to move as described in Decision 18-2/0.5.

"Therefore Larsen incurred a one-stroke penalty for causing the ball to move, but did not receive the additional penalty for playing from a wrong place because she was following the directions of the on-site Rules Official."

Taking a par instead of birdie, Broch Larsen fell to six-under-par for the tournament when play was suspended for darkness, leaving her tied with four other players for first as they waited to finish the second round.

Broch Larsen then played her remaining four holes on Sunday in one over and finished her 36 holes at five-under-par. South Korean and last year's Rookie of the Year, Sung Hyun Park, fired a five-under-par 66 in the second - and final - round to clinch her third LPGA Tour title.

Share this Article

share-logo
twitter-logo facebook-logo

Latest Videos See all videos right arrow

play button
ARE THESE DRIVERS REALLY BETTER THAN EVER BEFORE? – TaylorMade SIM2 driver review
TaylorMade
play button
IS THIS THE FASTEST DRIVER WE’VE EVER TESTED??? - Callaway Epic Speed, MAX & MAX LS review
Callaway
play button
HAS COBRA CREATED THE PERFECT DRIVER??? - COBRA RADSPEED review
Cobra
play button
WHY THIS SHOULD BE YOUR NEXT SPLIT SET - Callaway Apex irons review
Callaway
See all videos right arrow

Golf News

Matthew Wolff details crucial lesson he learned in 2020
Justin Thomas "upset" by Ralph Lauren decision
Rory McIlroy weighs in on Justin Thomas controversy
Tiger Woods pushes back start to 2021 after back op
Tyrrell Hatton puts pen to paper on new equipment deal

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods: Inside his $41million Florida mansion
The very best pubs in St Andrews
The Scottish Golf Course Emoji Quiz!
24 lies every bad golfer tells
Doug Sanders: The extraordinary life of golf's original playboy

Quick Fault 'n' Fixes See all videos right arrow

play button
Create more power with your wrists
Watch
play button
How to transition your weight with Peter Barber
Callaway
play button
Tighten your dispersion
Watch
play button
Set up square to the target
Watch
See all videos right arrow