Sign up for our daily newsletter

Latest news, reviews, analysis and opinion, plus unmissable deals for bunkered subscriptions, events, and our commercial partners.

What if there’s a tie for the lead after 72 holes at the PGA Championship?

It’s a question that offers different answers across all four majors on the men’s calendar.

Each career-defining tournament has its unique way of settling a winner, and its no different when determining who will lift the Wanamaker trophy.

There have been 14 playoffs in the PGA Championship since it was moved to the traditional stroke play format way back in 1958.

• US PGA Championship: Every LIV golfer in the field 

• US PGA Championship: When and where to watch on TV

Justin Thomas was the last PGA Championship winner to triumph via the playoff route. He defeated Will Zalatoris in sudden death after leader Mito Pereira imploded on the final hole to miss out by one at Southern Hills.

Before that, Tiger Woods, Vijay Singh, Martin Kaymer and Keegan Bradley all won the major in a playoff, too.

So how does the PGA Championship playoff format work?

The PGA Championship uses a three-hole playoff aggregate to determine its champion, if two players are locked after 72 holes.

The player with the lowest combined score after these three selected holes is the winner. If a winner is still not found, there is a sudden-death hole-by-hole match until someone wins outright.

The three-hole playoff at the PGA Championship in 2024 at Valhalla will be contested on Nos. 13, 17 and 18.

Are you subscribed to The bunkered Podcast

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses