Phil Mickelson finds himself at centre of yet another rules drama

Phil Mickelson

The drama just keeps following Phil Mickelson around at the moment.

Just three weeks after the incident at the US Open, where he putted a moving ball, the five-time major champion was assessed with a two-stroke penalty during the final round of the Greenbrier Classic for improving his line of play.

Phil breaks silence on $10m Tiger face-off
Mickelson says 'sorry' after US Open putt-gate

The 48-year-old tapped down fescue in front of the seventh hole tee box at The Old White TPC, which is not allowed. He immediately realised what he'd done and called in a rules official, who confirmed that Mickelson had breached Rule 13-2.

In explaining the incident afterwards, Mickelson said: "I wasn't really thinking. I just had a few bonehead moves today. But you can move stuff on the tee box, but I've been working on this really low shot for the next two weeks, and there was some fescue in front that was low, and I stepped on it.

"Right when I did, I thought, oh, my goodness, that might be a penalty. I told my partner, and we asked Robbie the rules official, and sure enough it was.

Jason Day criticises Phil Mickelson & USGA
Phil's latest business venture is... unusual

"It was just one of those things that I wasn't really paying attention or thinking. If we were on the tee box, no problem. But it was just a foot in front, and it's just one of those things. So you take your penalty and you move on."

Share this Article

share-logo
twitter-logo facebook-logo

Latest Videos See all videos right arrow

play button
WHY THIS SHOULD BE YOUR NEXT SPLIT SET - Callaway Apex irons review
Callaway
play button
IS THIS THE MOST FORGIVING DRIVER EVER??? - PING G425 review
Ping
play button
CAN AN UNPAINTED BALL HELP YOU PLAY BETTER??? - Wilson Staff Model golf balls review
Wilson
play button
THE MOST UNDERRATED DRIVER MONEY CAN BUY - BUT WHAT IS IT?
Srixon
See all videos right arrow

Golf News

Justin Thomas dropped by sponsor over "homophobic" remark
Report: Two-time major champion Angel Cabrera arrested
Rescheduled Scottish Golf Tourism Week 2020 now cancelled
Bubba Watson: Twitter reacts to latest addition to major champ's bag
Kevin Kisner has brilliant response when asked if he can win anywhere

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods: Inside his $41million Florida mansion
The very best pubs in St Andrews
The Scottish Golf Course Emoji Quiz!
24 lies every bad golfer tells
Doug Sanders: The extraordinary life of golf's original playboy

Quick Fault 'n' Fixes See all videos right arrow

play button
How a stronger grip can lead to extra distance
Watch
play button
Improve your rhythm and you will improve your golf
Watch
play button
How to make a consistent backswing
Watch
play button
Swing your arms more freely
Callaway
See all videos right arrow