Phil Mickelson says sorry after US Open "putt-gate"

Phil Mickelson2

Four days on from his moment of US Open madness at Shinnecock Hills, Phil Mickelson has apologised for his actions.

In case you've been living under a rock for the past few days, the five-time major champion ran after a still moving putt and hit the ball back towards the hole during Saturday's third round - his 48th birthday - and incurred a two-stroke penalty.

Many, however, believe the USGA should have disqualified Mickelson after he admitted he deliberately incurred a the penalty rather than risk running up a bigger score, sparking criticism that his actions were not in the spirit of the game.

Read more - Day 'disappointed' by Phil & USGA

OPINION - Phil Mickelson should have been DQ'd

Speaking afterwards, he told reporters that anyone offended by his action should 'toughen up', before adding: "I was just going back and forth and I'd gladly take the two shots over continuing that display.

"No question it was going to go down into the same spot behind the bunker. You take the two shots and you move on. I was taking advantage of the rules."

Now, Mickelson has apologised for his actions in a text message sent to a group of reporters, one of whom was Dave Shedloski of Golf World, who shared Mickelson's comments in this tweet.

Read more - Chamblee rips into USGA

Phil Mickelson apologises - Your thoughts

Fair play to Phil Mickelson for apologising for his action - but is it too little, too late in terms of restoring some of his reputation? Let us know in the 'Comments' section below.

Golf News

Muirfield 'welcome' ladies for first time
bunkered Fantasy Golf: Introducing the Links Swing Series
Fourteen more players secure Open berths
Bubba Watson shares advice for new major champ Woodland
Scottish schools are shunning golf

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods puts new irons in the bag
New Fife golf course gets go ahead
Review: Adare Manor, Ireland's rejuvenated masterpiece
Win a spot in the ASI Scottish Open Pro-Am with Hilton
Padraig Harrington targets 2020 Ryder Cup captaincy

Quick tips with Denis Pugh and Peter Barber See all videos right arrow

play button
The correct posture is the key to consistency
Watch
play button
Strengthen the clubface at impact
Callaway
play button
Extend your arms through impact
Watch
play button
Lowering your ball flight
Callaway
See all videos right arrow