Pro hit with EIGHT-shot penalty after ball blunder

Russell Henley

As he walked off the final green after completing the second round of the Mayakoba Classic, Russell Henley was in contention to win his fourth PGA Tour title and his first in almost three years.

Or so he thought.

Instead, he spent the weekend at home after a simple but costly mistake saw him hit with an eight-shot penalty.

Henley, 30, was signing balls for fans after completing his second round when he noticed that one of them was a slightly different model than the Titleist Pro V1x he regularly uses. He later said he was unsure how the ball got in his bag but knew that he had used it from holes nine to 12.

• Bob-Mac closing in on "unbelievable" honour

• Matthew banks on experience for 2021 Solheim

That was a breach of golf’s little-known ‘One Ball Rule’, which is applied on the PGA Tour, as well as most pro and top amateur events. The rule says: “When changing balls, the player is permitted to substitute a ball of another brand or type unless the committee has adopted the One Ball Condition of Competition (see Appendix I; Part C; Section 1c).”

WATCH - HOW TO SHOOT LOWER SCORES

Realising his mistake, Henley alerted PGA Tour rules official Brad Fabel to the error.

“It was a small dash, a different way it was marked that would have been easy to overlook,” said the official. “He came to us and said he didn’t know how it had got in his bag."

• “Anxiety tore my golf apart,” says Beef

• Scots hopefuls head to European Tour Q-School

It took Fabel and eight other officials an hour-and-a-half to come to a decision. Their conclusion was that Henley had broken the ‘One Ball Rule’ and that he was to be penalised two shots for each hole in which he had used the stray ball.

That added up to eight shots and turned Henley’s two-under-par round of 69 into a six-over 77, which dropped him from seven-under for the tournament to one-over. With the cut falling at one-under, he ended up missing out on the final two rounds.

Has to be said, kudos to Henley for his honesty. 

Share this Article

share-logo
twitter-logo facebook-logo

Latest Videos See all videos right arrow

play button
EVERYTHING YOU EVER WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT SCOTTY CAMERON PUTTERS (2020)
Scotty Cameron
play button
OLD DRIVER VS NEW DRIVER - TaylorMade SIM vs TaylorMade Original One
TaylorMade
play button
PUTTER BATTLE! Odyssey Stroke Lab Triple Track Ten - VS - TaylorMade Spider X
Odyssey Triple Track
play button
THE BEST LOOKING NEW CLUB I'VE SEEN IN 2020 - BUT WHAT IS IT?
Ping
See all videos right arrow

Golf News

BLOG "Golf is returning - let's not screw this up!"
Tiger Woods 'to be 2022 Ryder Cup captain'
Justin Rose announces Honma split
Where to watch Tiger vs Phil 2 in the UK
"My dad, Seve" - Javier Ballesteros on his superstar father

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods puts new irons in the bag
New Fife golf course gets go ahead
REVIEW - Adare Manor, Ireland's rejuvenated masterpiece
Win a spot in the ASI Scottish Open Pro-Am with Hilton
Padraig Harrington targets 2020 Ryder Cup captaincy

Quick Fault 'n' Fixes See all videos right arrow

play button
A simple tip to help you stop topping the golf ball
Watch
play button
The correct posture and alignment
Watch
play button
Extend the arms after impact
Watch
play button
How to stop hooking the ball
Callaway
See all videos right arrow