Rules of golf strike again as pro gets brutal four-shot penalty

Matt Southgate

Just when Matthew Southgate needed a bit of luck, it completely deserted him – and, just for good measure, the Rules of Golf well and truly kicked him when he was down.

The Englishman was already enduring a tough final round at the DAP Championship – the third of four Web.com Tour Finals events – when his ball struck a flying leaf on the 15th green, causing his putt to miss.

But that was far from the worst of it. Southgate tapped in his short putt but that, as it turned out, was a huge error.

You see, according to Rule 19-1, the contact from the leaf should have meant Southgate replayed his putt from the original position.

He didn't, and so incurred a two-shot penalty for playing from an improper position - and then another two for signing an incorrect scorecard.

Once Southgate’s fellow pros got wind of what had happened, it’s safe to say they were pretty bemused at the decision.

Southgate, though, called the decision a ‘massive chin up’ as he went on to post a nine-over-par 79 and finish way down in T64.

Remind us: when are those new Rules of Golf coming in again?

Golf News

Ho-Sung Choi's slo-mo swing is the only video you need to see today
Shane Lowry reveals "goal" after Abu Dhabi win
Who is the highest earner on the PGA Tour without a win?
Dream Saturday looms for Scots duo in Abu Dhabi
Padraig Harrington hints at reducing captains’ picks

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods puts new irons in the bag
New Fife golf course gets go ahead
Review: Adare Manor, Ireland's rejuvenated masterpiece
Win a spot in the ASI Scottish Open Pro-Am with Hilton
Padraig Harrington targets 2020 Ryder Cup captaincy

Quick tips with Denis Pugh and Peter Barber See all videos right arrow

play button
A bad grip will lead to bad swings
Watch
play button
Ball position and takeaway
Watch
play button
Take the club away on the correct path
Watch
play button
Denis Pugh’s stepping-stone to better golf
Watch
See all videos right arrow