Sergio Garcia and Matt Kuchar in 'gimme' controversy

Sergio Putt Gate

Not for the first time in 2019, Sergio Garcia and Matt Kuchar have found themselves making headlines for all the wrong reasons. 

Squaring off against one another in this evening’s WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play quarter-final, the duo were on the par-3 seventh, with Kuchar one-up, when it all kicked off.

After Kuch could do no better than bogey, Garcia had a putt for par to win the hole and square the match.

• Poulter wanted to "Cantona kick" hecklers

• LISTEN - Stenson does fantastic Scottish accent

However, his effort missed by a couple of inches on the left side and, with Kuchar out of shot and having presumably left the scene, Garcia used the back of his putter to tap the ball in.

Just one problem: he missed. 

No big deal, right? Wrong. According to the PGA Tour, a rules official intervened to say that, because Kuchar did not have the chance to concede the putt before Sergio went to tap in, the stroke stood and, consequently, Garcia lost the hole. Two-down.

• Popular Scottish event unlikely to take place in 2019

In the same tweet, the tour explained that Kuchar had “told the official he wanted to give Garcia the putt, but that cannot be done retroactively.”

If only that was the end of the matter.

On the next hole, Garcia failed to convert another putt and swiped his putter through the air in frustration. 

He could later be heard – on the tenth, it seems – telling Kuchar that he should have conceded the eighth to make up for the drama at the seventh. “I would have given you the putt on the next hole,” Sergio is heard to say. 

Stay tuned – this one isn’t over yet!

Sergio/Kuchar contoversy - your thoughts?

Should Matt Kuchar have given Sergio's putt on the next hole after the gimme that never was on the seventh? Or do you think the episode played out entirely as it should have? Leave your thoughts in our Comments section below.

Share this Article

share-logo
twitter-logo facebook-logo

Latest Videos See all videos right arrow

play button
HIT IT SOLID OFF SLOPING LIES | GOLF EXPLAINED
Golf Lessons
play button
THE MOST DIFFICULT LIES IN GOLF | GOLF EXPLAINED
Golf Lessons
play button
AM I A GOOD ENOUGH GOLFER TO USE A SET OF BLADES???
blades
play button
PICKING OUR FAVOURITE UTILITY IRON - Callaway X Forged UT vs TaylorMade SIM UDI vs Titleist U•500
Utility Irons
See all videos right arrow

Golf News

LPGA star Cristie Kerr suffers "serious" injuries in golf cart accident
Could this mean golf is exempt from future UK COVID lockdowns?
Dumbarnie Links reflects on hugely successful first year in business
Stephen Gallacher Foundation launches Christmas fundraising initiative
"Most golf clubhouses unwelcoming to women" says Annika Sorenstam

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods: Inside his $41million Florida mansion
The very best pubs in St Andrews
The Scottish Golf Course Emoji Quiz!
24 lies every bad golfer tells
Doug Sanders: The extraordinary life of golf's original playboy

Quick Fault 'n' Fixes See all videos right arrow

play button
Denis Pugh’s wise words for ex-pro Steven Rettie
Watch
play button
Strengthen the clubface at impact
Callaway
play button
A simple tip to help you stop topping the golf ball
Watch
play button
Rotate behind the ball
Watch
See all videos right arrow