The 2019 FedEx Cup winner will pocket how much?!

Justin Thomas

The world’s most lucrative tour just got a whole lot more lucrative.

The PGA Tour has announced today that the winner of next year’s FedEx Cup will receive $15 million. That’s up from $10 million, which has been the bonus awarded to the winner every year since its inception in 2007.

It’s part of a huge increase in the total FedEx Cup bonus pool, which has been raised from $35 million to an eye-watering $60 million.

• Future Ryder Cup venue announced

• Ryder Cup tee times & pairings

In addition to that, an extra $10 million in prize money is set to be awarded for performances during the regular PGA Tour season.

Upon the conclusion of the Wyndham Championship, the final regular season event of the 2019 season, the top ten in the FedEx Cup at that point will all receive bonuses, ranging from $2 million to the No.1 ranked player in the FedEx Cup at that point to $500,000 to the tenth-ranked player.

Jay Monahan

“Our players and fans have invested in the FedEx Cup over the past 12 seasons, and with these enhancements, we are reinvesting in the FedEx Cup in order to raise the stakes, so to speak, for their benefit,” said PGA Tour commissioner Jay Monahan. 

• Exclusive: Martin Kaymer & caddie Connelly split

The FedEx Cup play-offs have also been the subject of changes, with one of the main ones being that the number of events has been reduced from four to three.

There will be 125 players in the field for The Northern Trust, 70 in the field for the BMW Championship and 30 for the Tour Championship where, of course, the FedEx Cup champion will be determined.

Fed Ex Cup

But there is a significant change to the format of the Tour Championship. Instead of a point reset, the PGA Tour will introduce a strokes-based bonus system.

It means that the FedEx Cup leader heading into the finale will start on ten-under-par, with scores staggered down the field with the players ranked 26th to 30th starting on level par.

• Ex-tour pro hits out at Tyrrell Hatton... again!

With the implementation of this change, the player with the lowest total score will be the FedExCup champion and be credited with an official victory in the Tour Championship competition.

For example, if the new scoring system was to be implemented this week, the players would start off the tournament as follows:

-10 – Bryson DeChambeau
-8 – Justin Rose
-7 – Tony Finau
-6 – Dustin Johnson
-5 – Justin Thomas
-4 – Keegan Bradley, Brooks Koepka, Bubba Watson, Billy Horschel & Cameron Smith
-3 – Webb Simpson, Jason Day, Francesco Molinari, Phil Mickelson & Patrick Reed
-2 – Patrick Cantlay, Rory McIlroy, Xander Schauffele, Tommy Fleetwood & Tiger Woods
-1 – Aaron Wise, Kevin Na, Rickie Fowler, Jon Rahm & Kyle Stanley
E – Paul Casey, Hideki Matsuyama, Gary Woodland, Marc Leishman, Patton Kizzire

Share this Article

twitter-logo facebook-logo

Latest Videos See all videos right arrow

play button
TITLEIST TOUR SPEED – Better than the Pro V1???
play button
Golf Lessons
play button
TaylorMade MG2 TW Grind Wedges – Tiger Woods’ secret short game weapon
play button
A simple drill for perfect timing | IMG Academy
Golf Lessons
See all videos right arrow

Golf News

Ryder Cup star Tony Finau "being sued for $16million"
The World Handicap System: Everything you need to know
Want to work in golf? This is the website for you...
Tour reverses decision to let fans attend Scottish Open
"There's no way it could have happened" - Padraig Harrington has no regrets over Ryder Cup postponement

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods: Inside his $41million Florida mansion
The very best pubs in St Andrews
The Scottish Golf Course Emoji Quiz!
24 lies every bad golfer tells
Doug Sanders: The extraordinary life of golf's original playboy

Quick Fault 'n' Fixes See all videos right arrow

play button
Take the club away on the correct path
play button
Maintaining your posture
play button
A simple tip to help you stop topping the golf ball
play button
Stand closer to the ball
See all videos right arrow