The Open :: 7 prizes up for grabs at Troon

2016 01 Getty Images 481425528

The Claret Jug, or the Golf Champion Trophy to give it its official name, is the most sought-after prize at the Open this week – but it isn’t the only prize which is handed out.

In fact, there are seven prizes in total which are handed out, some of which you may not have even known about.

The Golf Champion Trophy

Royal Troon

More commonly known as the Claret Jug, it has been awarded to the winner since 1873 although Young Tom Morris, winner in 1872, is the first name engraved on it.

The Gold Medal

As well as the Claret Jug, a gold medal is also awarded to the winner of the Open. It was first handed out in 1872 when the Claret Jug wasn’t ready and has since been awarded to all champions

The Silver Medal

142nd Open Championship - Final Round

Awarded since 1949 to the leading amateur completing the final round. Past winners include Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy and Matt Fitzpatrick.

The Bronze Medal

Awarded since 1972 to all other amateurs who make the cut and play all four rounds.

Ryle Memorial Medal

Rory McIlroy with the Ryle Memorial Medal, Braid Taylor Memorial Medal & Tooting Bec Cup from the 2014 Open at Hoylake.
Rory McIlroy with the Ryle Memorial Medal, Braid Taylor Memorial Medal & Tooting Bec Cup from the 2014 Open at Hoylake.

The Professional Golfers’ Association of Great Britain & Ireland also mark the achievements of their own members in the Open. The Ryle Memorial Medal has been awarded since 1966 to the winner if he is a PGA member. The last five winners of this have been Rory McIlroy (2014), Darren Clarke (2011), Padraig Harrington (2007 & 2008) and Paul Lawrie (1999).

Braid Taylor Memorial Medal

Awarded since 1966 to the highest finishing PGA member. It is restricted to members born in, or with a parent or parents born in, the UK or Republic of Ireland. The last six winners of this are: Justin Rose, sixth, 2015; Rory McIlroy, winner, 2014; Ian Poulter & Lee Westwood, third, 2013; Luke Donald & Graeme McDowell, fifth, 2012.

Tooting Bec Cup

Awarded since 1924 to the PGA member who records the lowest single round during the championship. The last six winners of this are: Padraig Harrington, 65, 2015; Rory McIlroy, 66, 2014; Ian Poulter, 67, 2013; Paul Lawrie, 65, 2012; Darren Clarke & Graeme McDowell, 68, 2011.

Share this Article

twitter-logo facebook-logo

Latest Videos See all videos right arrow

play button
TITLEIST TOUR SPEED – Better than the Pro V1???
play button
Golf Lessons
play button
TaylorMade MG2 TW Grind Wedges – Tiger Woods’ secret short game weapon
play button
A simple drill for perfect timing | IMG Academy
Golf Lessons
See all videos right arrow

Golf News

Golf is "more dangerous" than rugby, according to new study
Scottish golf professional jailed over £154,000 tax fraud
Glendale Golf helps ‘Slip! Slap! Swing!’ campaign smash target
Research reveals huge optimism for future of grassroots golf

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods: Inside his $41million Florida mansion
The very best pubs in St Andrews
The Scottish Golf Course Emoji Quiz!
24 lies every bad golfer tells
Doug Sanders: The extraordinary life of golf's original playboy

Quick Fault 'n' Fixes See all videos right arrow

play button
Complete your backswing
play button
Don’t close your clubface at address
play button
A flatter swing plane will help cure your slice
play button
Denis Pugh says, ‘Turn, don’t slide’
See all videos right arrow