European Tour pro Ben Evans was the beneficiary of a sensational break courtesy of a rules official at the weekend.
Playing in the Cazoo Classic at London Golf Club, the Englishman had found himself seven-under and in title contention teeing it up on Saturday morning.
However, things looked bleak after the 34-year-old struck his second shot on the par-4 fourth hole.
• Fowler dejected as season ends early
• Major changes coming to world rankings
After launching his drive into a greenside bunker, Evans smashed his second shot into the lip of the sand trap, his ball plugging as a result.
A rules official was then called over and it was revealed that Evans’ ball was embedded in the general area and that he would receive relief.
• Work to begin on R&A's new Glasgow facility
Instead of dropping back into the bunker, the official ruled that the drop area was just outside of the hazard.
Watch the moment for yourself below.
🙈🙈🙈#CazooClassicpic.twitter.com/5UDXvRaJDc
— DP World Tour (@DPWorldTour) August 14, 2021
• LPGA star calls for slow play crackdown
From there, Evans bogeyed the hole, before going to card a one-over round of 72. A bogey-free final day 67 wasn’t enough to rocket him back into contention as he had to settle for a T9 finish.