Sign up for our daily newsletter

Latest news, reviews, analysis and opinion, plus unmissable deals for bunkered subscriptions, events, and our commercial partners.

The Open Championship is golf’s oldest tournament and is one of the game’s four majors.

Played exclusively on links courses in the UK, it takes place at some of the most iconic golf courses in the world.

Scotland, England and Northern Ireland are all currently represented on the rota, which consists of nine courses.

The most famous is the Old Course at St Andrews, which has hosted the Open 30 times – by far the most of any course on the rota. Widely regarded as the Home of Golf, the game’s very best players have won the Claret Jug on the Old Course.

Muirfield, in East Lothian, is also on the rota and has been the venue for golf’s oldest major 16 times, the second most of the courses currently on the circuit.

The Open last visited in 2013, and though the club has previously attracted controversy due to its historic attitude to female members, it voted to overturn its policy and has since hosted the AIG Women’s Open.

Carnoustie in Angus is an eight-time venue, most recently in 2018, while Royal Troon was the scene of Henrik Stenson and Phil Mickelson’s epic showdown in 2016 and hosts the Open again in 2024.

• Which course has hosted The Open most often

• Future Open venues: Which course wil host next

Turnberry, meanwhile, was part of the Open rota but is not being considered to host the event due to the controversial ownership of former US President Donald Trump, and the tournament has not been played there since 2009.

The north-west of England is a regular destination for the game’s oldest contest, with no less fewer than three courses from the country’s “golf coast” making it onto the rota. Royal Liverpool has held 13 editions, most recently in 2023.

Royal Lytham and St Annes has hosted the Open 11 times, most recently in 2012, while it has visited Royal Birkdale on ten occasions.

Royal St George’s in Kent is the most southerly venue on the rota by some 200 miles and has been the venue on 15 occasions, most recently in 2021.

Meanwhile Royal Portrush in Northern Ireland returned to the rota in 2019 after a 68-year absence and is set to host the Open again in 2025.

There are also several venues which were previously part of the rota but are no longer suitable to host the Open. Prestwick, the original venue, held 24 Opens but was removed from the circuit in 1925.

Musselburgh Links hosted six editions, Royal Cinque Ports two and Prince’s one. Turnberry has hosted the Open four times.

• How to get tickets to the 2025 Open

• A brief history of the Claret Jug

The Open Championship venues – courses currently on the rota

Old Course – St Andrews, Scotland

Muirfield – Gullane, Scotland

Royal St George’s – Sandwich, England

Royal Liverpool – Hoylake, England

Royal Troon – Troon, Scotland

Royal Lytham & St Annes – Lytham St Annes, England

Carnoustie – Carnoustie, Scotland

Royal Portrush – Portrush, Northern Ireland

Royal Birkdale – Southport, England

Courses no longer on the Open Championship rota

Prestwick – Prestwick, Scotland

Musselburgh Links – Musselburgh, Scotland

Royal Cinque Ports – Deal, England

Prince’s – Sandwich, England

Turnberry – South Ayrshire, Scotland

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses