Sign up for our daily newsletter

Want latest news, reviews, analysis, deals, and events, and offers from our commercial partners? We’ve got you.

It wouldn’t be a major championship without a rules incident, right?

The 2019 US PGA got its very own on Friday when American David Lipsky was hit with a two-shot penalty… for missing his tee time!

Lipsky, 30, entered day two at Bethpage in a tie for 18th and level-par but was two shots worse off before even hitting a ball after failing to be in position to get his second round underway at his scheduled time of 5.43pm (UK time).

• Daly wants permission to use buggy at Portrush

• Eddie Pepperell has hilarious reaction to missed cut

In a statement, the PGA of America explained: “Lipsky, from Las Vegas, NV, was walking toward the tee with his putter and a ball but was not within the area defined as the start point.”

David Lipsky

The PGA of America’s local rules and competition terms states the following with regard to the starting point of a round:

4. Starting Point Defined: For the purpose of applying Rule 5.3a, the starting point for hole #1 and hole #10 is defined by the rope, gallery stakes, green bike fencing and/or blue stakes, blue dots or blue lines.”

• Tiger explains Bethpage no-show

• Why people hate the US PGA (and how to fix it)

Players must be ready to play at the starting time and starting point set by the tournament committee. The penalty for breaching this rule is disqualification with three exceptions, one of which is when a player arrives at their starting point, ready to play, no more than five minutes late, for which a two-shot penalty is applied.

It’s not clear what happened to make Lipsky late to the tee but it proved costly as he signed for a 74 to drop to four-over for the tournament.


author headshot

Michael McEwan is the Deputy Editor of bunkered and has been part of the team since 2004. In that time, he has interviewed almost every major figure within the sport, from Jack Nicklaus, to Rory McIlroy, to Donald Trump. The host of the multi award-winning bunkered Podcast and a member of Balfron Golfing Society, Michael is the author of three books and is the 2023 PPA Scotland 'Writer of the Year' and 'Columnist of the Year'. Dislikes white belts, yellow balls and iron headcovers. Likes being drawn out of the media ballot to play Augusta National.

Deputy Editor

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses

Latest podcast

Rory McIlroy's resignation and making sense of the WHS