Sign up for our daily newsletter

Want latest news, reviews, analysis, deals, and events, and offers from our commercial partners? We’ve got you.

Shad Tuten has narrowly missed out on a PGA Tour card after a rules infraction saw him penalised two strokes.

The journeyman pro thought that he had locked up his PGA Tour status for 2024, with a two-putt from long range on the final hole of the Korn Ferry Tour Championship, but there was drama to come in the scoring hut.

The 31-year-old, who has never played on the PGA Tour, was retroactively penalised two strokes for an incident on the 15th fairway.

• Patrick Cantlay and Joe LaCava: The pantomime double act this Ryder Cup desperately needed

• Why Team USA threatened to boot Xander Schauffele out of the Ryder Cup

Those two shots took him from narrowly inside the crucial top-30, to 32nd in the season long Korn Ferry Tour rankings, meaning he’ll miss out on status on the main tour.

The final round was being played with lift, clean and place (preferred lies) on the fairways, and before his approach shot on the par-5, Tuten lifted his ball.

However, when he replaced it, the ball rolled forward after Tuten let go. Then, he replaced the ball, but marginally to the right of where he originally tried to place it.

In this situation, Tuten should have placed his ball in the exact place he originally wanted to put it. Since he went onto play the ball from an incorrect spot, he was subsequently assessed a two shot penalty.

• Patrick Cantlay’s hatgate takes new twist

• Ryder Cup winner expected Robert MacIntyre’s performance

Jim Duncan, a rules official who was on the scene at Victoria National Golf Club, told the Golf Channel:

“There’s a video of him trying to place his ball under the lift, clean and place local rule. I think it’s pretty clear in the video that when he placed it one time, that the ball rolled forward a little bit.

“Unfortunately, that rule requires you to place it on the exact same spot again. Then if it won’t come to rest, that’s when we try and find the nearest place that you do. It’s just like any other rule that involves you placing the ball.

“When he did not try to replace that ball on exactly the same spot, that’s when he was under penalty of two shots for playing from the wrong place.”

Sky Sports pundit Simon Holmes described the moment as “brutally harsh,” although the coach did accept that the correct decision had been made, reckoning that “around five millimetres” was the distance he moved the ball from its correct spot.

Tuten would eventually sign for a final round of 76, his highest score of the week, which left him in a tie for 28th in the tournament.

One man’s pain, however, is another man’s gain. Rafa Campos looked to have narrowly missed out on making the grade for a card, after agonisingly missing a birdie putt on his 72nd hole of the tournament.

But, with Tuten’s two-shot penalty, Campos moved up into the all-important top-30.

Meanwhile, Frenchman Paul Barjon punched his ticket to the PGA Tour, winning the event with a total of 14-under-par.

author headshot

Lewis Fraser As bunkered’s Performance Editor, Lewis oversees the content that’s designed to make you a better player. From the latest gear to tuition, nutrition, strategy and more, he’s the man. A graduate of the University of Stirling, Lewis joined bunkered in 2021. Formerly a caddie at Castle Stuart Golf Links, he is a member of Bathgate Golf Club where he plays off four.

Performance Editor

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses

Latest podcast

Rory McIlroy's resignation and making sense of the WHS