Sign up for our daily newsletter

Latest news, reviews, analysis and opinion, plus unmissable deals for bunkered subscriptions, events, and our commercial partners.

From nightclub bouncer to PGA Tour winner.

That’s the new reality for 29-year-old Jake Knapp, who has won the Mexico Open on just his ninth start on the US circuit.

The American was four shots clear heading into the final round, but had his lead wiped out on a nervous front nine.

But Knapp found some form coming home, finishing with a final round 71 to oust Finland’s Sami Valimaki by two shots.

“Didn’t necessarily have my best stuff today, that’s for sure,” Knapp said. “Knew it was nerve-wracking, knew it was going to be tough.

• Sources: Anthony Kim to make golf comeback this week

• Joaquin Niemann: LIV Golf’s major problem ‘sucks’

“It would have been nice to hit driver better and hit it a little bit better, but was super pumped on how I played in the finishing stretch.”

Just three years ago, Knapp missed out on a tour card and worked in security at a nightclub to pay the bills.

“They needed a security guy and I was like, ‘I don’t know if I’m big enough, but I can stand there and look tough’,” he joked.

Knapp’s life-changing victory earns him a spot at the The Players, The Masters, PGA Championship and the five remaining PGA Tour Signature Events this season.

Meanwhile, Scotland’s Robert MacIntyre secured his best PGA Tour finish yet, finishing in a tie for sixth.

Here’s the full prize money payout from the Mexico Open…

Mexico Open 2024 prize money payout in full

Winner. Jake Knapp: $1,458,000

2. Sami Valimaki: $882,900

T3. Stephan Jaeger, C.T. Pan, Justin Lower: $429,300

T6. Patrick Rodgers, Robert MacIntyre: $283,500

T8. Carson Young, Doug Ghim, Andrew Novak, Erik van Rooyen, Chan Kim: $220,725

T13. Maverick McNealy, Tony Finau, Alvaro Ortiz, Brandon Wu, Ben Silverman, Henrik Norlander: $145,125

T19. Aaron Rai, Greyson Sigg, Martin Trainer, Jorge Campillo, Keith Mitchell: $99,549

T24. Dylan Wu, Nico Echavarria, Aaron Baddeley, Chandler Phillips, Parker Coody, Stuart Macdonald, Chesson Hadley, Cameron Champ, Davis Thompson: $61,695

T33. Harry Hall, James Hahn, Chad Ramey, Emiliano Grillo, Matt Wallace: $44,145

T38. Rafael Campos, Austin Eckroat, Hayden Springer, Ryan McCormick, Jimmy Stanger, Kevin Dougherty, Wilson Furr, Joseph Bramlett: $32,805

T46. Santiago de la Fuente (a), Thorbjorn Olesen: $25,515

T48. Ryo Hisatsune, Cristobal Del Solar, Lanto Griffin, Mark Hubbard: $21,303

T52. Nicolai Hojgaard, Austin Smotherman, Padraig Harrington, Viktor Perez, Carl Yuan, Ryan Palmer: $19,197

T58. Erik Barnes, Troy Merritt: $18,468

T60. Trace Crowe, Ryan Moore, Jhonattan Vegas, Garrick Higgo, Robby Shelton: $17,901

65. MJ Daffue: $17,415

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses

Latest podcast

The 2024 Masters Commute - Day 1 LIVE from Augusta