Sign up for our daily newsletter

Latest news, reviews, analysis and opinion, plus unmissable deals for bunkered subscriptions, events, and our commercial partners.

Shane Lowry finally got his hands on the prestigious Association of Golf Writers (AGW) trophy and promised it would not be the last time he won it.

The Open champion spent a long time admiring the names of the previous winners after being presented with the trophy by AGW committee member David Facey before tee-up at this week’s Omega Dubai Desert Classic at the Emirates course in Dubai.

“It’s a lovely trophy and a great honour, but looking at the names of the guys who’ve won it before me I see my fellow Irish Rory McIlroy there three times, and Padraig Harrington twice”, said Lowry.

“So, I’d better win at least once more to get some sort of parity – although three more would be better so I could have the Irish bragging rights!”

• Brooks Koepka announces shock split
• PGA Tour winner could be forced to leave the game

Shane Lowry Agw Golf Writers Trophy Credit Ross Kinnaird Getty Images 3

Lowry won the top AGW’s top award on the back of his stunning six shot victory in the 2019 Open at Royal Portrush in Northern Ireland.

The trophy is normally presented at the AGWs annual dinner held during the week of the Open Championship.

However, the cancellation of last year’s Open, and the continued disruption caused by the coronavirus restrictions, meant this week was the first opportunity to actually present Lowry with the gleaming trophy.

• WATCH – Pro tries weirdest grip we’ve ever seen

• “It’s not right” – Pro hits out at English ban

Photos Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses