Sign up for our daily newsletter

Latest news, reviews, analysis and opinion, plus unmissable deals for bunkered subscriptions, events, and our commercial partners.

There aren’t many things more exciting for golf fans than an Open host announcement – because that’s when we can all start planning our next trip to watch the world’s finest battle for the coveted Claret Jug. So what are the future Open venues? Here’s a quick rundown of where the next Champion Golfers will be crowned…

• Quiz: How many of these Open champions can you name?


Royal Liverpool 2023 Open

Royal Liverpool

Where: Merseyside, England
When: July 20-23
Previous years hosted: 1897, 1902, 1907, 1913, 1924, 1930, 1936, 1947, 1956, 1967, 2006, 2014


Royal Troon

Royal Troon

Where: Ayrshire, Scotland
When: July 18-21
Previous years hosted: 1923, 1950, 1962, 1973, 1982, 1989, 1997, 2004, 2016


Report Card Royal Portrush

Royal Portrush

Where: County Antrim, Northern Ireland
When: July 17-20
Previous years hosted: 1951, 2019


Royal Birkdale

Royal Birkdale

Where: Merseyside, England
When: July 16-19
Previous years hosted: 1954, 1961, 1965, 1971, 1976, 1983, 1991, 1998, 2008, 2017

• Royal Birkdale gets the nod for 2026

When will The Open return to St Andrews?

Since 1990, St Andrews’ Old Course has hosted The Open every five years until 2020, when it was decided that Royal St George’s would be the venue so the Home of Golf could hold the 150th edition of golf’s oldest major. With a year’s break for the Covid pandemic, the Claret Jug was contested on the Kent coast in 2021 and everyone’s favourite corner of Fife a year later.

It’s opened a lot of speculation about when St Andrews will host another Open. Returning to its regular slot of years ending in 5 and 0 would have meant just a three-year gap, but that talk was silenced when Portrush was handed the duties for a third time in 2025.

While no announcement has been made about St Andrews’ inclusion in the list of future Open venues – indeed, the decision may not even be finalised – it is likely the next time the Champion Golfer of the Year will be decided at its spiritual home in 2030.

Want tickets to The Open? Visit the website for more information.

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses