Sign up for our daily newsletter

Latest news, reviews, analysis and opinion, plus unmissable deals for bunkered subscriptions, events, and our commercial partners.

Rory McIlroy is a five-time Order of Merit winner in Europe after sealing top spot once again without hitting a shot ahead of the season-closing DP World Championship.

McIlroy now has a quintet of Harry Vardon trophies after adding to his wins in 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2022.

The Northern Irishman won the season-long Race to Dubai after edging out Patrick Reed in a thriller at the Dubai Desert Classic at the start of the year, as well as his epic finish to win the Scottish Open in East Lothian.

• Who is Rory McIlroy’s caddie?

Who is Rory McIlroy’s coach?

A strong run of three top-tens in the four majors ensured he would be topping the season-long standings again in 2023, capping off another memorable year.

And McIlroy is now inspired to chase the record-holder, Colin Montgomerie, who was crowned Europe’s best on eight occasions during his own glittering career.

“I still have distance to cover to reach Colin’s tally in the order of merit,” McIlroy said after his fifth title was confirmed. “That inspires me to give my best in the upcoming years.”

Here is the full list of Order of Merit winners on the European circuit…

DP World Tour Order of Merit winners

2023: Rory McIlroy
2022: Rory McIlroy
2021: Collin Morikawa
2020: Lee Westwood
2019: Jon Rahm
2018: Francesco Molinari
2017: Tommy Fleetwood
2016: Henrik Stenson
2015: Rory McIlroy
2014: Rory McIlroy
2013: Henrik Stenson
2012: Rory McIlroy
2011: Luke Donald
2010: Martin Kaymer
2009: Lee Westwood
2008: Robert Karlsson
2007: Justin Rose
2006: Padraid Harrington
2005: Colin Montgomerie
2004: Ernie Els
2003: Ernie Els
2002: Lee Westwood
2001: Retief Goosen
2000: Retief Goosen
1999: Colin Montgomerie
1998: Colin Montgomerie
1997: Colin Montgomerie
1996: Colin Montgomerie
1995: Colin Montgomerie
1994: Colin Montgomerie
1993: Colin Montgomerie
1992: Nick Faldo
1991: Seve Ballesteros
1990: Ian Woosnam
1989: Ronan Rafferty
1988: Seve Ballesteros
1987: Ian Woosnam
1986: Seve Ballesteros
1985: Sandy Lyle
1984: Bernhard Langer
1983: Nick Faldo
1982: Greg Norman
1981: Bernhard Langer
1980: Greg Norman
1979: Sandy Lyle
1978: Seve Ballesteros
1977: Seve Ballesteros
1976: Seve Ballesteros
1975: Dale Hayes
1974: Peter Oosterhuis
1973: Tony Jacklin
1972: Peter Oosterhuis

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses