Sign up for our daily newsletter

Want latest news, reviews, analysis, deals, and events, and offers from our commercial partners? We’ve got you.

Former Solheim Cup star Christina Kim is at the centre of golf’s latest rules furore, after calling a penalty on her playing partners during last week’s LPGA Q-Series.

The incident happened on the par-3 17th at Pinehurst during Round 6 of the qualifying event.

Kim hit first. Dewi Weber went next. As she addressed her ball, the third player in the group, Kendall Dye, signalled to Weber’s caddie to ask if she was hitting an 8-iron. Jacqueline Schram, on Weber’s bag, motioned back to confirm.

That was a violation of Rule 10-2, which states that a player cannot ask for advice from a fellow player or caddie. Players can look in opponents’ bags to ascertain which club they are hitting but they may not, for example, move a towel if it is draped over the bag.

• Norman reveals how Tiger snubbed him

• Phil’s remarkable streak comes to an end

• New owner pledges to put Scots club back on map

WATCH – HOW TO SHOOT LOWER SCORES

It was initially reported that Kim waited until the end of the round, ten holes later, to inform her partners that they had breached the rule. However, she later clarified, saying that she had contacted an official as soon as they had finished the hole to see if the rule was still in effect.

• Open venue wins Scotland’s Best Golf Experience

• Matthew set to captain 2021 Solheim Cup team

Weber was unaware of what had happened but, nonetheless, was hit with a two-shot penalty because of her caddie’s intervention. Dye, too, was docked two shots.

Kim subsequently spent much of the weekend discussing – and defending – her actions on social media.


Whilst Kim went on to secure her LPGA playing privileges through the event, there was no such luck for Dye and Weber, both of whom failed to get the top-45 finish they needed. Dye missed out by four shots and Weber by nine.

• Drysdale “still striving” for first win on tour

Dye has since taken to Twitter to give her version of events. She takes responsibility for breaking the rule, albeit unknowingly, but criticised Kim for her handling of the matter.


author headshot

Michael McEwan is the Deputy Editor of bunkered and has been part of the team since 2004. In that time, he has interviewed almost every major figure within the sport, from Jack Nicklaus, to Rory McIlroy, to Donald Trump. The host of the multi award-winning bunkered Podcast and a member of Balfron Golfing Society, Michael is the author of three books and is the 2023 PPA Scotland 'Writer of the Year' and 'Columnist of the Year'. Dislikes white belts, yellow balls and iron headcovers. Likes being drawn out of the media ballot to play Augusta National.

Deputy Editor

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses

Latest podcast

Rory McIlroy's resignation and making sense of the WHS