Sign up for our daily newsletter

Want latest news, reviews, analysis, deals, and events, and offers from our commercial partners? We’ve got you.

Nothing to see here.

That’s the message from Masters Tournament officials over an incident involving Brooks Koepka’s caddie that sent Golf Twitter into a meltdown during the opening round at Augusta National.

A clip widely shared on social media appeared to show Ricky Elliott, Koepka’s long-time looper, mouthing the word “five” in the direction of Gary Woodland’s caddie on the 15th hole.

• Twitter reacts to McIlroy’s TV “walk and talk”

• The Masters: Round 2 tee times in full

Many took that to be Elliott telling Thomas Little what club Koepka had just hit.

With Woodland yet to play, that would have been a breach of Rule 10.2(a) and punishable by a two-shot penalty.

Here’s the clip that set tongues wagging…

However, Masters officials were quick to put the matter to bed.

A statement released by them after the round said: “Following the completion of Brooks Koepka’s round, the Committee questioned his caddie and others in the group about a possible incident on No.15.

• “You need to stop” – Garcia bristles at reporter

“All involved were adamant that no advice was given or requested. Consequently, the Committee determined that there was no breach of the Rules.”

Koepka carded a seven-under 65 to be tied for the lead after the opening round alongside Jon Rahm and Viktor Hovland.

Know the rule…

Rule 10 – Advice and Other Help

Purpose of Rule: A fundamental challenge for the player is deciding the strategy and tactics for their play. So there are limits to the advice and other help the player may get during a round.



During a round, a player must not:• Give advice to anyone in the competition who is playing on the course,

• Ask anyone for advice, other than the player’s caddie, or

• Touch another player’s equipment to learn information that would be advice if given by or asked of the other player (such as touching the other player’s clubs or bag to see what club is being used).

This does not apply before a round, while play is stopped under Rule 5.7a or between rounds in a competition.

Penalty for Breach of Rule 10.2a: 

General Penalty: In both match play and stroke play, the penalty is applied in this way:• Player Asks For or Gives Advice When Either Player Is Playing Hole. The player gets the general penalty on the hole being played just completed.

• Player Asks For or Gives Advice When Both Players Are Between Play of Two Holes. The player gets the general penalty on the next hole.

author headshot

Michael McEwan is the Deputy Editor of bunkered and has been part of the team since 2004. In that time, he has interviewed almost every major figure within the sport, from Jack Nicklaus, to Rory McIlroy, to Donald Trump. The host of the multi award-winning bunkered Podcast and a member of Balfron Golfing Society, Michael has also authored three books. Dislikes white belts, yellow balls and iron headcovers. Likes being drawn out of the media ballot to play Augusta National.

Deputy Editor

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses

Latest podcast

Rory McIlroy's resignation and making sense of the WHS