Sign up for our daily newsletter

Latest news, reviews, analysis and opinion, plus unmissable deals for bunkered subscriptions, events, and our commercial partners.

The 2025 PGA Championship will return to a popular venue for just the second time.

Formerly played in mid-August, it’s now the second major of four in the men’s calendar and takes place in mid-May.

In recent times, the championship has been played across a small group of celebrated courses and next year’s venue is no different.

The 2025 PGA Championship will be played at Quail Hollow Golf Club, as the Charlotte course hosts its second chase for the Wanamaker trophy.

Found in North Carolina, the country club first staged the tournament in 2017, when Justin Thomas won his maiden major by two shots.

“For this to be my first and have my dad here, and I know Grandpa was watching at home … was pretty cool. It’s just a great win for the family.”

The schedule change was announced before the event that week before Thomas saw off the threat of Francesco Molinari, Louis Oosthuizen and Patrick Reed.

• Quiz: How many former US PGA champs can you name?

• PGA Championship: When and where to watch on TV

Founded in 1959, Quail Hollow is a private members’ club that opened two years later.

The 18-hole championship course was designed by golf course architect George Cobb, who was renowned for designing several golf courses in the southeastern United States.

Arnold Palmer touched up several holes in 1986 before it underwent a re-design from Tom Fazio in 1997, 2003, and from 2014 to 2016.

Despite only hosting the PGA Championship once, Quail Hollow has a prestigious championship history, being a regular stop on the PGA Tour.

It hosted the Kemper Open from 1969 through 1979 and the senior tour’s PaineWebber Invitational from 1983 through 1989.

The PGA Tour returned to Quail Hollow in 2003 with the Wachovia Championship, now the Wells Fargo Championship, which has been held every year since.

Rory McIlroy won the Wells Fargo at Quail Hollow in 2024.

In 2022, Quail Hollow hosted the fourteenth edition of the Presidents Cup.

2025 PGA Championship and beyond

2025 – Quail Hollow, NC

2026 – Aronimink, PN

2027 – PGA Frisco, TX

2028 – Olympic Club, CA

2029 – Baltusrol, NJ

2030 – Bethesda, MD

2031 – Kiawah Island, SC

2034 – Frisco, TX

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses