English golfer misses out on Q-School final after harsh penalty

Rules Of Golf

The rules of golf have struck again.

Young English golfer Gian-Marco Petrozzi has missed out on a place at the final stage of European Tour Q-School this week after being hit with a peculiar penalty at the end of Stage 2 on Monday

Gian Marco Petrozzi

• Big names facing battle to retain cards at Q-School

• Have you seen Scotland's newest links course yet?

Playing at Las Colinas, the Staffordshire ace thought he had muscled his way into this week’s final stage at Lumine after having a strong finish to card a 65 in his fourth and final round.

Then things unravelled, as he explained on Twitter.

Petrozzi Explanation

Those extra two shots he was hit with dropped Petrozzi into a share of 32nd place – and agonisingly outside the places for this week’s final stage.

Ouch!

Golf News

European Tour pros have putters stolen Down Under
J.B. Holmes fires back after slow play roasting
Adam Scott willing to take drastic action so PGA Tour tackles slow play
Geoff Ogilvy: 'PGA Tour didn't inspire me anymore'
Matt Kuchar issues apology; will give caddie $50k payment

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods puts new irons in the bag
New Fife golf course gets go ahead
Review: Adare Manor, Ireland's rejuvenated masterpiece
Win a spot in the ASI Scottish Open Pro-Am with Hilton
Padraig Harrington targets 2020 Ryder Cup captaincy

Quick tips with Denis Pugh and Peter Barber See all videos right arrow

play button
Don’t close your clubface at address
Watch
play button
Keep the body and arms connected
Watch
play button
Why you need to address the ball with a square clubface
Watch
play button
Strengthening your grip
Watch
See all videos right arrow