Sergio Garcia ‘won’t face ban’ for deliberately damaging greens

Sergio Garcia

Sergio Garcia will face no further punishment from the European Tour despite deliberately damaging FIVE greens during the third round at the Saudi International.

The 2017 Masters champion was disqualified from the event under Rule 1.2a, which allows for action to be taken if a player has committed serious misconduct.

According to Martin Dempster of The Scotsman, players in the next four groups, including Patrick Reed, complained to officials about the mess Garcia had made, which included a mixture of deliberate 'scuff marks' and a divot hole.

• Sergio 'deserves suspension', says PGA Tour pro

• Koepka picks course he'll 'definitely' win Open on

• Despite bizarre ruling, Rickie wins WMPO

In a statement released after his disqualification, Garcia said: "I respect the decision of my disqualification. In frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, which I apologise for, and I have informed my fellow players it will never happen again."

Dempster also tweeted this image of the damage Garcia inflicted on the sixth green.

The last high-profile pro to be hit with a misconduct charge was Simon Dyson in 2013.

The Yorkshireman was disqualified from the BMW Masters, was forced to pay a £30,000 fine and received a two-month suspended ban for tapping down a spike mark, an act that was then against the rules, but which is now allowed.

• Beemer predicts who will complete career grand slam in 2019

• One of Augusta National's toughest holes just got tougher

However, it appears that no further action will be taken against Garcia, due to him not only issuing a public apology, but also personally to the players in the groups behind who had called in the rules officials.

“The incident is over,” European Tour CEO Keith Pelley added to The Scotsman. “We have dealt with it. Sergio has apologised to the players and we move on.”

It is understood Garcia was heard criticising the greens earlier in the week and on Friday, he was seen taking
out his dislike of the bunkers by smashing down his sand wedge.

However, it is believed that the incidents on Saturday were not captured by Sky Sports due to Garcia being out early in the third round.

Should Garcia face further disciplinary action?

Do you think Sergio Garcia should face further action for his 'serious misconduct' in Saudi Arabia? Let us know in the 'Comments' section below.

Share this Article

share-logo
twitter-logo facebook-logo

Latest Videos See all videos right arrow

play button
EVERYTHING YOU EVER WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT SCOTTY CAMERON PUTTERS (2020)
Scotty Cameron
play button
OLD DRIVER VS NEW DRIVER - TaylorMade SIM vs TaylorMade Original One
TaylorMade
play button
PUTTER BATTLE! Odyssey Stroke Lab Triple Track Ten - VS - TaylorMade Spider X
Odyssey Triple Track
play button
THE BEST LOOKING NEW CLUB I'VE SEEN IN 2020 - BUT WHAT IS IT?
Ping
See all videos right arrow

Golf News

"It could host The Open right now" - Dumbarnie Links opens to rave reviews
WATCH - Scots golfer suffers first tee nightmare on return to the course
David Snodgrass takes the reins at Crail
Glasgow golfers make renewed plea to save courses
Robert MacIntyre to reopen course alongside COVID-19 survivor

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods puts new irons in the bag
New Fife golf course gets go ahead
REVIEW - Adare Manor, Ireland's rejuvenated masterpiece
Win a spot in the ASI Scottish Open Pro-Am with Hilton
Padraig Harrington targets 2020 Ryder Cup captaincy

Quick Fault 'n' Fixes See all videos right arrow

play button
Stand closer to the golf ball at address
Callaway
play button
Don’t get stuck on the downswing
Watch
play button
Increase your shoulder turn and improve your golf
Callaway
play button
Increase your shaft lean for more consistency
Watch
See all videos right arrow