Sign up for our daily newsletter

Latest news, reviews, analysis and opinion, plus unmissable deals for bunkered subscriptions, events, and our commercial partners.

Annika Sorenstam must wish that she had stayed retired.

Making her first official tour start since 2008, the 50-year-old Swede carded a three-over 75 in the opening round of the Gainbridge LPGA at Lake Nona. 

However, it could have been better but for a bogus ruling.

Ten-time major champion Sorenstam had to call in an official after her tee shot at the par-4 fifth hole came to rest beneath the gate of a house bordering the golf course. 

• Woods will not face charges after accident

• Roadmap published for return of golf in England

Dan Maselli, the rules official who responded, determined that the ball had stayed in bounds “by a dimple”. Sorenstam had suggested opening the gate to hit the shot but Maselli told her that wasn’t an option. 

Consequently, Sorenstam ruled her ball unplayable, took relief at the cost of a penalty stroke and, finally, signed for a triple-bogey seven. 

Just one problem: Maselli got it wrong.

Sorenstam could have opened the gate. 

A change to the Rules of Golf in 2019, a gate used to get through a wall or fence is no longer part of the boundary object. Instead, it’s considered an obstruction, which means that players are able to claim free relief. 

In Sorenstam’s case, that would have meant opening the gate (assuming it wasn’t locked). 

Even more incredible than the rules official not knowing the rules is the fact that there’s nothing the LPGA can do about it.

• Shaken Thomas reacts to news of Tiger’s crash

• Wie blasts Giuliani over “panties” joke

• Royal Aberdeen to host Scottish Seniors

In a statement, the tour said: “Regarding the Ruling given to Annika Sorenstam on the fifth hole during the first round of the 2021 Gainbridge LPGA, the official on scene linked the word ‘integral’ to the gate meant that it could not be moved. 

“This was an error under the definition of an Immovable Obstruction in the Rules of Golf. The gate is considered moveable if proven to be unlocked (Rule 16), and therefore could have been moved to allow the player to hit the shot.

“The option to rescind the penalty is not available under the Rules of Golf. The official met the player immediately following her second round to explain the mistake and apologise.”

author headshot

Michael McEwan is the Deputy Editor of bunkered and has been part of the team since 2004. In that time, he has interviewed almost every major figure within the sport, from Jack Nicklaus, to Rory McIlroy, to Donald Trump. The host of the multi award-winning bunkered Podcast and a member of Balfron Golfing Society, Michael is the author of three books and is the 2023 PPA Scotland 'Writer of the Year' and 'Columnist of the Year'. Dislikes white belts, yellow balls and iron headcovers. Likes being drawn out of the media ballot to play Augusta National.

Deputy Editor

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses

Latest podcast

The 2024 Masters Commute – Final Round Recap LIVE from Augusta