Sign up for our daily newsletter

Latest news, reviews, analysis and opinion, plus unmissable deals for bunkered subscriptions, events, and our commercial partners.

A trio of golf icons have been given the Presidential Medal of Freedom in a private White House ceremony despite simmering political tensions in the USA.

Gary Player, Annika Sorenstam and the late Babe Didrikson Zaharias received the commendations from outgoing president Donald Trump.

The ceremony was originally scheduled to be held last March but was postponed due to the COVID-19 outbreak. According to a report in the US, it took place today behind closed doors and less than 24 hours after pro-Trump rioters breached the grounds of the US Capitol during proceedings to certify the result of November’s presidential election.

• Whan announces shock LPGA departure

• Another award for record-breaker Westwood

• Schauffele describes “scary” COVID-19 ordeal

Four people were killed in the violent clashes that followed, with at least 52 arrests.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the United States’ highest civilian award. It was established in 1963 by President John F Kennedy, superseding the Medal of Freedom that was established by President Harry Truman in 1945 to honor civilian service during World War II.

The award is designed to recognise people who have made “an especially meritorious contribution to the security or national interests of the United States, world peace, cultural or other significant public or private endeavours” and is not limited to US citizens. It is typically awarded annually on or around July 4 – American Independence Day – but it can be given out at other times at the president’s discretion

• WATCH – Bryson’s latest antics leave fans baffled

• Are you one of our Advent Calendar winners?

Player, Sorenstam and Zaharias join Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Charlie Sifford and Tiger Woods in receiving the award.

Palmer was the first to receive it, in 2004, and was followed a year later by Nicklaus. Sifford was recognised in 2014 by President Barack Obama.

Woods received his medal from President Trump in 2019 following his Masters victory at Augusta National, his 15th major championship triumph. 

author headshot

Michael McEwan is the Deputy Editor of bunkered and has been part of the team since 2004. In that time, he has interviewed almost every major figure within the sport, from Jack Nicklaus, to Rory McIlroy, to Donald Trump. The host of the multi award-winning bunkered Podcast and a member of Balfron Golfing Society, Michael is the author of three books and is the 2023 PPA Scotland 'Writer of the Year' and 'Columnist of the Year'. Dislikes white belts, yellow balls and iron headcovers. Likes being drawn out of the media ballot to play Augusta National.

Deputy Editor

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses

Latest podcast

The 2024 Masters Commute - Day 1 LIVE from Augusta