Sign up for our daily newsletter

Latest news, reviews, analysis and opinion, plus unmissable deals for bunkered subscriptions, events, and our commercial partners.

It’s one of the most iconic holes in golf, but how many times has a hole-in-one been made at the 17th at TPC Sawgrass in The Players Championship?

The Stadium Hole is the signature hole at TPC Sawgrass at Ponte Vedra Beach and is arguably the most recognisable on the PGA Tour circuit.

The par-3 17th is 137 yards and is a challenge of the mind as much as it is technique, with players hitting towards a narrow green surrounded by water, with huge crowds creating a superb amphitheatre spectacle.

What is the cut rule at The Players?

• TPC Sawgrass: The hole-by-hole guide

It is often referred as an “island green”, but that is incorrect as there is a narrow peninsula to walk to the putting surface.

The wind and pin position can often dictate the levels of carnage on 17, with the hole causing havoc as players see hopes dashed iff their ball finds the water.

But some players have managed to make an ace on what is regarded as one of the most intimidating holes in golf.

In total, there have been 14 holes-in-one on the 17th at The Players. That included three aces in the 2023 renewal. Players to achieve the rare feat include Fred Couples, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Sergio Garcia and Shane Lowry.

Here’s the full list of players who have made a hole-in-one at the famous 17th at TPC Sawgrass during tournament play…

Who has made a hole-in-one on the 17th at The Players?

Brad Fabel (1986)
Brian Claar (1991)
Fred Couples (1997)
Joey Sindelar (1999)
Paul Azinger (2000)
Miguel Angel Jimenez (2002)
Willy Wilcox (2016)
Sergio Garcia (2017)
Ryan Moore (2019)
Shane Lowry (2022)
Hayden Buckley (2023)
Aaron Rai (2023)
Alex Smalley (2023)
Ryan Fox (2024)

• The Players 2024: Preview, betting tips & how to watch

There have been plenty of hole-in-ones on the other par-3s at TPC Sawgrass…

3rd hole – 177 yards

Jim Gallagher (1986)
Russ Cochran (1994)
Chris DiMarco (2001)
Seamus Power (2019)

8th hole – 237 yards

Gary Hallberg (1994)
Mark Brooks (1997)
Bob Friend (1999)
Naomichi Ozaki (2000)
Ted Tryba (2000)
Michael Thompson (2013)
Brendon Todd (2021)
Viktor Hovland (2022)

13th hole – 181 yards

Chip Beck (1992)
Phil Mickelson (1995)
Jay Don Blake (1996)
Craig Stadler – (2002)
Jose Maria Olazabal (2004)
Justin Leonard (2006)
Jesper Parnevik (2006)
Henrik Stenson (2006)
Fred Couples (2006)
Robert Garrigus (2008)
Chris Stroud (2013)
Sungjae Im (2019)

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses

Latest podcast

The 2024 Masters Commute - Day 1 LIVE from Augusta