Sign up for our daily newsletter

Want latest news, reviews, analysis, deals, and events, and offers from our commercial partners? We’ve got you.

Ryder Cup-winning captain Thomas Bjorn has hit out at the rules officials following the controversy that marred the opening day of the Solheim Cup.

Playing in the opening match of the afternoon fourballs session, European duo Madelene Sagstrom and Nanna Koerstz Madsen were all-square with Nelly Korda and Ally Ewing on the 13th when an eagle putt from world No.1 Korda narrowly missed on the high side. 

With Korda’s ball having come to a full stop, Sagstrom walked in and picked up Korda’s ball conceding a birdie to the Americans. 

However, as the players walked off the green, a rules official approached Sagstrom to explain that she had not allowed the ten seconds permitted under Rule 13.3 to see if the ball would drop into the hole. As a result, Korda was awarded the eagle and, rather than being halved in birdie, the Americans won the hole. 

• New Netflix show to go behind scenes of PGA Tour

• Patrick Reed was left “battling for my life”

The incident proved to be decisive with the Americans winning the contest one-up. 

However, was the ball “overhanging” the hole? Was there any chance of it dropping in? Judge for yourself…

Sagstrom fought back tears as she disputed the decision after the round, with Korda and Ewing both visibly downcast, too.

According to Bjorn, who led Europe to victory in the 2018 Ryder Cup at Le Golf National, the incident could have been avoided had officials applied some common sense rather than adhered rigidly to the rulebook.

• Bryson breaks silence on Koepka, hecklers and more

• WATCH: Golfer hits shank on 12 at Augusta National

Reigning European No.1 Lee Westwood was equally unimpressed by the decision, saying “some people will be able to look in the mirror this morning and some people won’t”.

“I wouldn’t be buying them a pint in the clubhouse after the fiddle at Worksop if they tried that one on me,” he added. “The rules might have been applied correctly but I’m not sure it falls in line with the spirit of the game.”


author headshot

Michael McEwan is the Deputy Editor of bunkered and has been part of the team since 2004. In that time, he has interviewed almost every major figure within the sport, from Jack Nicklaus, to Rory McIlroy, to Donald Trump. The host of the multi award-winning bunkered Podcast and a member of Balfron Golfing Society, Michael is the author of three books and is the 2023 PPA Scotland 'Writer of the Year' and 'Columnist of the Year'. Dislikes white belts, yellow balls and iron headcovers. Likes being drawn out of the media ballot to play Augusta National.

Deputy Editor

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses

Latest podcast

Rory McIlroy's resignation and making sense of the WHS