Sign up for our daily newsletter

Latest news, reviews, analysis and opinion, plus unmissable deals for bunkered subscriptions, events, and our commercial partners.

Nicolai Hojgaard claimed the biggest win of his career with a sensational back-nine birdie blitz to see off his Ryder Cup teammates at the DP World Tour Championship. 

Hojgaard fired five consecutive birdies from the 13th hole on the Earth Course at Jumeirah Golf Estates on Sunday, posting an eight-under final round 64 to beat Victor Hovland, Tommy Fleetwood and Jon Rahm by two shots.

And the Dane has now moved into the world’s top 50 after securing the $3million winner’s prize in the DP World Tour’s season-closing showpiece.

• Tiger Woods confirms competitive golf comeback

• RSM Classic prize money payout in full

“It’s the sweetest one and so much hard work has been put in the last couple of years – and this year has been a really good year,” Hojgaard said.

“I have to say this is probably the best golf I’ve played in a tournament because this is the strongest field in my three wins. I’m definitely going to enjoy this.”

Meanwhile, Rory McIlroy, who finished in a tie for 22nd in the 50-player field, lifted his fifth Race to Dubai crown.

There was also elation and despair elsewhere as ten players secured their ticket to the PGA Tour next season.

Here’s the full prize money breakdown from the DP World Tour Championship…

DP World Tour Championship prize money payout

Winner. Nicolai Hojgaard: $3,000,000

T2. Viktor Hovland, Tommy Fleetwood, Matt Wallace: $910,000

T5. Thriston Lawrence, Jon Rahm, Matthieu Pavon: $340,000
8. Victor Perez, -16, $240,000

T9. Ewen Ferguson, Jeff Winther: $200,000

T11. Tyrrell Hatton, Romain Langasque, Antoine Rozner, Rasmus Hojgaard: $153,000

T15. Tom Kim, Min Woo Lee: $117,750

17. Dan Bradbury: $110,000

T18. Adrian Otaegui, Shane Lowry, Ryo Hisatsune, Robert MacIntyre: $99,000

T22. Sepp Straka, Zander Lombard, Rory McIlroy, Julien Guerrier: $86,625

26.Thorbjørn Olesen: $80,000

T27. Grant Forrest, Vincent Norrman, Yannik Paul, Matt Fitzpatrick, Jens Dantorp: $72,600

T32. Adrian Meronk, Tom McKibbin: $65,000

T34. Pablo Larrazabal, Ryan Fox: $61,000

T38. Daniel Hillier, Lucas Herbert, Sami Valimaki: $52,000

T41. Sebastian Soderberg, Connor Syme: $48,500

T43. Jorge Campillo, Julien Brun: $46,500

T45. Daniel Brown, Marcel Siem: $44,500

47. Jordan Smith: $43,000

48. Joost Luiten: $42,000

49. Matthew Southgate: $41,000

50. Nacho Elvira: $40,000

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses