Sign up for our daily newsletter

Latest news, reviews, analysis and opinion, plus unmissable deals for bunkered subscriptions, events, and our commercial partners.

The DP World Tour Championship is the crown jewel of the DP World Tour season.

As the final event of the campaign, 50 players gather on the Earth Course at Jumeirah Golf Estates in Dubai to battle it out for the prestigious title.

First held in 2009, when the Order of Merit was replaced by the Race to Dubai, the leading players competed for the winner’s prize of just over $1 million.

In 2023, that figure has become $3 million, with an overall prize purse of $10 million.

The DP World Tour Championship is also the fifth and final event of the lucrative Rolex Series, while it brings the Race to Dubai to a close.

That season-long leaderboard has a bonus pool, awarding players money based on their finish in the standings.

• The 33 players who won a DP World Tour card

• How many royal golf clubs are there?

And since 2023, it has provided the top ten ranked players, who are not already exempt, with PGA Tour cards ahead of the following season.

So, with all of that on the line, who has scooped the honours in the past?

DP World Tour Championship winners

Pitting elite players from Europe and beyond against each other, it is no surprise that the DP World Tour Championship boasts a stacked honours list.

Europeans have dominated the event since its inception in 2009, with Collin Morikawa becoming the first American to hoist the title in 2021.

Englishman Lee Westwood won the inaugural DP World Tour Championship before compatriots Matt Fitzpatrick and Danny Willet won the event.

Henrik Stenson, Rory McIlroy and Fitzpatrick are all multiple winners of the tournament, but nobody has won it more times than Jon Rahm.

The Spaniard claimed his third title in 2022 after wins in 2017 and 2019.

With a growing scroll of world-class winners, here is the full list of players to win the DP World Tour Championship…

• The European Tour Order of Merit winners

2022: Jon Rahm

2021: Collin Morikawa

2020: Matt Fitzpatrick

2019: Jon Rahm

2018: Danny Willett

2017: Jon Rahm

2016: Matt Fitzpatrick

2015: Rory McIlroy

2014: Henrik Stenson

2013: Henrik Stenson

2012: Rory McIlroy

2011: Álvaro Quirós

2010: Robert Karlsson

2009: Lee Westwood

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses