Sign up for our daily newsletter

Want latest news, reviews, analysis, deals, and events, and offers from our commercial partners? We’ve got you.

When Daniel Berger found the water with his 2nd shot on the 16th at TPC Sawgrass, there was some debate as to where he should be dropping his ball to play his next shot.

Coming off a birdie on the 15th, the world No. 20 was looking to make a late run at the Players Championship, and took on the par-five 16th in two. However, the American’s ball found the water beside the green.

This is where things get complicated. Berger was insistent that he should be dropping his ball closer to the green than where he eventually did. It was his playing partners, Joel Dahmen and Viktor Hovland, that Berger discussed the ruling with. Things got so contentious that a rules official was also called to the scene.

• Tyrrell Hatton’s X-rated rant at missed putt

The important point here is to know where Berger’s ball crossed the line of the penalty area, not where it eventually ended up. Berger believed his ball crossed the line of the penalty area closer to the green than his playing partners. He would go on to play his fourth shot from 97 yards away, and make a disappointing bogey-six.

Watch the exchange here:


author headshot

Lewis Fraser As bunkered’s Performance Editor, Lewis oversees the content that’s designed to make you a better player. From the latest gear to tuition, nutrition, strategy and more, he’s the man. A graduate of the University of Stirling, Lewis joined bunkered in 2021. Formerly a caddie at Castle Stuart Golf Links, he is a member of Bathgate Golf Club where he plays off four.

Performance Editor

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses

Latest podcast

Rory McIlroy's resignation and making sense of the WHS