Sign up for our daily newsletter

Latest news, reviews, analysis and opinion, plus unmissable deals for bunkered subscriptions, events, and our commercial partners.

The Golf Champion Trophy, more commonly known as the Claret Jug, is the ultimate prize at the Open Championship – but it’s not the only one.

Including the sought-after trophy that the winner will lift on Sunday, there are seven prizes handed out, some of which you will have never heard of.

Here’s what is up for grabs at Royal Liverpool…

• Big names missing from The Open

• The Open: Early betting favourites

The Golf Champion Trophy

Also called the Claret Jug, the fabled silverware has been awarded to the winner of the Open since 1873. However, Young Tom Morris won the championship in 1872 and was the first name engraved on it. The winner keeps the trophy until the next Open, at which point it must be returned, and a replica is provided.

The Gold Medal

In addition to the Claret Jug, the winner of the Open will be awarded a gold medal. It was first handed out in 1872 when the Claret Jug wasn’t ready and has been awarded to all champions since.

The Silver Medal

Like the gold medal, but this one is for the ‘winning’ amateur. The silver medal has been awarded since 1949 to the leading amateur, who completes the final round. Past winners include Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy and Matt Fitzpatrick.

The Bronze Medal

Another prize for the amateurs, the bronze medal has been awarded since 1972. All other amateurs who make the Open cut and play four rounds will receive one.

Ryle Memorial Medal

The Professional Golfers’ Association of Great Britain & Ireland also mark their members’ achievements in the Open. The medal has been awarded since 1901 to the winner if he is a PGA member, with past winners including Nick Faldo and Seve Ballesteros.

Braid Taylor Memorial Medal

Since 1966, the highest-finishing PGA member has claimed this award. It is restricted to members born in, or with a parent or parents born in, the UK or Republic of Ireland. Robert Rock won the prize at Hoylake in 2006.

• The Open: Early weather forecast

Tooting Bec Cup

The Tooting Bec Cup is a medal and not a trophy, but it is the PGA’s oldest prize. Inaugurated in 1901, it even predates the northern section’s Leeds Cup, which was first contested in 1902. Awarded at the Open since 1924, it goes to the PGA member born in, or with a parent or parents born in, the United Kingdom or Republic of Ireland, who returns the lowest single-round score in The Open Championship.

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses