Sign up for our daily newsletter

Latest news, reviews, analysis and opinion, plus unmissable deals for bunkered subscriptions, events, and our commercial partners.

The plot thickens…

It has emerged that, like Patrick Reed, Rory McIlroy also took free relief from an “embedded lie” during the third round of the Famers Insurance Open at Torrey Pines – despite his ball also having bounced upon impact.

Former Masters champion Reed found himself at the centre of yet another rules imbroglio yesterday after being given a free drop from a purported embedded lie on the tenth, despite television footage having shown his ball bouncing forwards after it landed, making it almost impossible that the ball had indeed embedded into the ground.

• FOR SALE – Greg Norman’s Florida home 

• Plans in place to re-open closed Scots club

• Lowry finally gets hands on AGW trophy

The PGA Tour subsequently cleared the American of any malfeasance, with Reed telling CBS Sports’ Amanda Balionis that one rules official told him that he “did exactly what you’re supposed to do”

In the meantime, a social media account widely believed to be operated by members of Reed’s inner circle tweeted a series of posts alleging that Rory McIlroy had done precisely the same thing yesterday.

The PGA Tour has since released footage to support that claim…

You can clearly see McIlroy’s ball bounce upon impact before nestling down in the ground. It should also be noted that, unlike Reed, he did not call in an official for a ruling before proceeding to take a drop. 

The PGA Tour subsequently released a statement on the incidents, saying:  

“John Mutch, Ken Tackett and Gary Young have reviewed the Rory McIlroy videos from No.18 yesterday and determined that it was virtually the same situation that Patrick Reed faced on No. 10 during the third round.

• US names new Presidents Cup captain

• Brooks Koepka announces shock split

“It was reasonable for both players to conclude – based on the fact that they did not see the ball land, but given the lie of the ball in soft course conditions – that they proceed as the Rule allows for any potential embedded ball.

“They marked, lifted and assessed the situation to determine if the ball was embedded. Patrick went one step further and called in a Rules Official to be sure his assessment would not be questioned (although this step is not required). Both players took proper relief under the Rule 16/3. The Committee is comfortable with how both players proceeded given the fact that they used the evidence they had at the time.”

Entering today’s final round, Reed was tied for the lead with Mexico’s Carlos Ortiz.

author headshot

Michael McEwan is the Deputy Editor of bunkered and has been part of the team since 2004. In that time, he has interviewed almost every major figure within the sport, from Jack Nicklaus, to Rory McIlroy, to Donald Trump. The host of the multi award-winning bunkered Podcast and a member of Balfron Golfing Society, Michael is the author of three books and is the 2023 PPA Scotland 'Writer of the Year' and 'Columnist of the Year'. Dislikes white belts, yellow balls and iron headcovers. Likes being drawn out of the media ballot to play Augusta National.

Deputy Editor

More Reads

Image Turnberry green

The bunkered Golf Course Guide - Scotland

Now, with bunkered, you can discover the golf courses Scotland has to offer. Trust us, you will not be disappointed.

Find Courses

Latest podcast

The 2024 Masters Commute – Final Round Recap LIVE from Augusta