Eddie Pepperell unhappy with rules after Qatar DQ

Eddie Pepperell

Eddie Pepperell has described the rule that saw him disqualified from the Qatar Masters today as "a fair distance away from common sense".

The Englishman, a winner of the event in 2018, was booted from the remainder of the tournament after signing for a wrong score.

Whilst the total he signed for, 71, was correct, a mix-up with his playing partner resulted in some of his scores being marked in the wrong places on the card.

As a result, he will play no further part in the tournament.

• WATCH - Bob Mac hits massive drive in Qatar

• Tour postpones rest of season due to coronavirus

• Rory expects to win at least "one major" this year

Afterwards, Pepperell took to Twitter to explain what had happened - and to question the severity of his punishment.

Your thoughts?

Should signing for the correct total, but marking some scores wrongly, result in a player's disqualification? Do you think this punishment is appropriate or unfair? Leave your thoughts in our Comments section below.

Share this Article

share-logo
twitter-logo facebook-logo

Latest Videos See all videos right arrow

play button
EVERYTHING YOU EVER WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT SCOTTY CAMERON PUTTERS (2020)
Scotty Cameron
play button
OLD DRIVER VS NEW DRIVER - TaylorMade SIM vs TaylorMade Original One
TaylorMade
play button
PUTTER BATTLE! Odyssey Stroke Lab Triple Track Ten - VS - TaylorMade Spider X
Odyssey Triple Track
play button
THE BEST LOOKING NEW CLUB I'VE SEEN IN 2020 - BUT WHAT IS IT?
Ping
See all videos right arrow

Golf News

"It could host The Open right now" - Dumbarnie Links opens to rave reviews
WATCH - Scots golfer suffers first tee nightmare on return to the course
David Snodgrass takes the reins at Crail
Glasgow golfers make renewed plea to save courses
Robert MacIntyre to reopen course alongside COVID-19 survivor

Other Top Stories

Tiger Woods puts new irons in the bag
New Fife golf course gets go ahead
REVIEW - Adare Manor, Ireland's rejuvenated masterpiece
Win a spot in the ASI Scottish Open Pro-Am with Hilton
Padraig Harrington targets 2020 Ryder Cup captaincy

Quick Fault 'n' Fixes See all videos right arrow

play button
Make your backswing steeper
Watch
play button
Keep the body and arms connected
Watch
play button
How to hit a fade
Watch
play button
Make your swing arc wider
Watch
See all videos right arrow